Establishment Abbey Infant School

URN: 103930

Community school

Download establishment data

Skip map
Maurice Road, Smethwick, West Midlands, B67 5LR
Local authority
Sandwell (333)
Headteacher / Principal
Dr Richard Kentish
Phase of education
School type
Community school
Gender of entry
URN: 103930, DfE number: 333/2102
UKPRN: 10070964
Establishment status
Admissions policy
Not applicable
Ofsted rating
Good (Last inspection: 17 October 2017)
Ofsted report (opens in new tab)
Religious character
Does not apply
Not applicable
No boarders
Nursery provision
Has Nursery Classes
Official sixth form
Does not have a sixth form
Number of pupils
Open date
Not recorded
Reason establishment opened
Not applicable
Closed date
Not recorded
Reason establishment closed
Not applicable
Special classes
No Special Classes
Percentage of children eligible for free school meals Help with percentage of children eligible for free school meals field Opens a dialog
Date last changed / confirmed
5 May 2021
Type of SEN provision
Type of resourced provision
Not recorded
Resourced provision number on roll
Resourced provision capacity
Special Educational Needs (SEN) unit number on roll
Special Educational Needs (SEN) unit capacity

Legal duty to provide governance information

More details

All maintained school governing bodies and academy trusts have a legal duty to provide all of the governance information requested on this page in so far as it is available to them.

This will increase the transparency of governance arrangements. It will enable schools and the department to identify more quickly and accurately individuals who are involved in governance, and who govern in more than one context.

The information requested says nothing in itself about a person's suitability to govern. However, it is essential information for the department to be able to uniquely identify an individual and in a small number of cases conduct checks to confirm their suitability for this important and influential role.

You should provide all of the information requested insofar as it is available to you. A minimum set of information needs to be provided before a record can be saved.

A suggested privacy notice for schools is available for download: (opens in new tab)

Chair of governors

Chair of governors
Name Appointed by From To
Robert Hart Appointed by GB/board 3 December 2019 2 December 2023


Name Appointed by From To
Richard Kentish Ex-officio by virtue of office as headteacher/principal 1 September 2014 31 December 2024
Ben Churchill Appointed by GB/board 1 December 2020 30 November 2024
Lisa Simmons Appointed by GB/board 1 December 2020 30 November 2024
Pamela Eling Nominated by LA and appointed by GB 3 July 2018 8 July 2023
Phil Jones Appointed by LA 9 July 2019 8 July 2023
Neal Price Elected by parents 18 January 2019 17 January 2023
Miriam Atkins Elected by parents 6 November 2018 4 November 2022
Jane Gowing Appointed by GB/board 7 July 2014 2 July 2022
Laura Elizabeth Wheatly Appointed by GB/board 7 July 2014 2 July 2022
Martin Patrick McGowan Elected by school staff 7 July 2014 2 July 2022
Patrick Redmond Appointed by GB/board 18 September 2019 2 July 2022
Ahmad Hayat Elected by school staff 8 January 2018 7 January 2022

Historic (left within last 12 months)

More details Less details
Historical governance
Name Role Appointed by From To
Lisa Simmons Governor Appointed by GB/board 6 December 2016 5 December 2020
Regional schools commissioner (RSC) region
West Midlands
Government office region (GOR)
West Midlands
Parliamentary constituency
Urban/rural description
(England/Wales) Urban major conurbation
Government Statistical Service (GSS) local authority code
Census ward
Middle super output area (MSOA)
Sandwell 034
Lower super output area (LSOA)
Sandwell 034E

Age range

The age range that the establishment is legally allowed to make provision for.

School capacity

The number of pupil places the establishment can accommodate.

Free school meals

This shows whether a pupil's family have claimed eligibility for free school meals as reported in the annual spring school census. Parents are able to claim free school meals if they receive a qualifying benefit. This does not show pupils who actually received free school meals but those who are eligible to receive them.