Establishment Newton Tony Church of England Voluntary Controlled School

URN: 126343

Voluntary controlled school

Download establishment data

Skip map
Newton Tony, Salisbury, Wiltshire, SP4 0HF
Local authority
Wiltshire (865)
Headteacher / Principal
Miss Sheena Priestley
Phase of education
School type
Voluntary controlled school
Gender of entry
URN: 126343, DfE number: 865/3134
UKPRN: 10069860
Establishment status
Admissions policy
Not applicable
Ofsted rating
Good (Last inspection: 27 March 2019)
Ofsted report (opens in new tab)
Religious character
Church of England
Diocese of Salisbury
No boarders
Nursery provision
No Nursery Classes
Official sixth form
Not applicable
Number of pupils
Open date
Not recorded
Reason establishment opened
Not applicable
Closed date
Not recorded
Reason establishment closed
Not applicable
Special classes
No Special Classes
Date last changed / confirmed
14 July 2021
Type of SEN provision
Type of resourced provision
Not applicable
Resourced provision number on roll
Resourced provision capacity
Special Educational Needs (SEN) unit number on roll
Special Educational Needs (SEN) unit capacity

Legal duty to provide governance information

More details

All maintained school governing bodies and academy trusts have a legal duty to provide all of the governance information requested on this page in so far as it is available to them.

This will increase the transparency of governance arrangements. It will enable schools and the department to identify more quickly and accurately individuals who are involved in governance, and who govern in more than one context.

The information requested says nothing in itself about a person's suitability to govern. However, it is essential information for the department to be able to uniquely identify an individual and in a small number of cases conduct checks to confirm their suitability for this important and influential role.

You should provide all of the information requested insofar as it is available to you. A minimum set of information needs to be provided before a record can be saved.

A suggested privacy notice for schools is available for download: (opens in new tab)

Chair of governors

Chair of governors
Name Appointed by From To
Rachael Lamont Appointed by GB/board 8 October 2018 7 October 2022


Name Appointed by From To
Anthony Brinkworth Parent appointed by GB/board due to no election candidates 30 March 2020 29 March 2024
Laura Ansbro Persons who are appointed by the foundation body or sponsor (if applicable) 30 March 2020 29 March 2024
Kristina Auckland Elected by parents 8 October 2018 7 October 2022
Jo Hillier Elected by school staff 16 October 2017 15 October 2021
Jamie Lawes Ex-officio foundation governor (appointed by foundation by virtue of the office they hold) 17 September 2020 Not recorded
Sheena Priestley Ex-officio by virtue of office as headteacher/principal 1 February 2017 Not recorded

Historic (left within last 12 months)

More details Less details
Historical governance
Name Role Appointed by From To
John Smale Governor Nominated by LA and appointed by GB 20 June 2017 19 June 2021
Simon Dawson Chair of governors Appointed by GB/board 1 January 2017 31 December 2020
Amanda Kerry Governor Appointed by GB/board 12 December 2016 11 December 2020
Regional schools commissioner (RSC) region
South-West England
Government office region (GOR)
South West
Winterslow & Upper Bourne Valley
Parliamentary constituency
Urban/rural description
(England/Wales) Rural village
Government Statistical Service (GSS) local authority code
Census ward
Middle super output area (MSOA)
Wiltshire 049
Lower super output area (LSOA)
Wiltshire 049C

Age range

The age range that the establishment is legally allowed to make provision for.

School capacity

The number of pupil places the establishment can accommodate.

Free school meals

This shows whether a pupil's family have claimed eligibility for free school meals as reported in the annual spring school census. Parents are able to claim free school meals if they receive a qualifying benefit. This does not show pupils who actually received free school meals but those who are eligible to receive them.