Establishment Carshalton Boys Sports College

URN: 136799

Academy converter

Download establishment data


Skip map
Winchcombe Road, Carshalton, Surrey, SM5 1RW
Local authority
Sutton (319)
Headteacher / Principal
Mr Simon Barber
Phase of education
School type
Academy converter
Single-academy trust
Gender of entry
URN: 136799, DfE number: 319/4000
UKPRN: 10033760
Establishment status
Admissions policy
Ofsted rating
Good (Last inspection: 25 April 2017)
Ofsted report (opens in new tab)
Religious character
Does not apply
Not applicable
Religious ethos
Does not apply
No boarders
Nursery provision
Not applicable
Official sixth form
Has a sixth form
Number of pupils
Section 41 approved
Not applicable
Open date
1 June 2011
Reason establishment opened
Academy Converter
Closed date
Not recorded
Reason establishment closed
Not recorded
Special classes
No Special Classes
Percentage of children eligible for free school meals Help with percentage of children eligible for free school meals field Opens a dialog
Date last changed / confirmed
7 September 2021
Type of SEN provision
Type of resourced provision
Not recorded
Resourced provision number on roll
Resourced provision capacity
Special Educational Needs (SEN) unit number on roll
Special Educational Needs (SEN) unit capacity
Back to top

Legal duty to provide governance information

More details

All maintained school governing bodies and academy trusts have a legal duty to provide all of the governance information requested on this page in so far as it is available to them.

This will increase the transparency of governance arrangements. It will enable schools and the department to identify more quickly and accurately individuals who are involved in governance, and who govern in more than one context.

The information requested says nothing in itself about a person's suitability to govern. However, it is essential information for the department to be able to uniquely identify an individual and in a small number of cases conduct checks to confirm their suitability for this important and influential role.

You should provide all of the information requested insofar as it is available to you. A minimum set of information needs to be provided before a record can be saved.

A suggested privacy notice for schools is available for download: (opens in new tab)

Chair of trustees

Chair of trustees
Name Appointed by From To
Rebecca McGowan Appointed by GB/board 21 May 2017 21 May 2022


Name Appointed by From To
David Baron Original (signatory) members 2 September 2021 2 September 2025
Emma Clark Elected by school staff 23 January 2020 23 January 2024
Giovanna Stewart Elected by school staff 22 November 2019 22 November 2023
Susan O'Neill Nominated by LA and appointed by GB 15 July 2019 15 July 2023
Andrew Lee Elected by parents 19 October 2018 19 October 2022
Daniel Ayeni Elected by parents 18 October 2018 18 October 2022
Edwina Rozek Elected by school staff 19 April 2017 19 April 2022
Alan Forder Appointed by academy members 27 March 2018 26 March 2022
Graham Skipp Elected by parents 3 March 2017 3 March 2022
Valerie Roberts Elected by parents 3 March 2017 3 March 2022
Catherine Fontinelle Elected by parents 13 November 2017 13 November 2021
Joanne Damianou Elected by parents 26 October 2017 26 October 2021
Stephen Bosdet Elected by school staff 21 October 2016 21 October 2021


Name Appointed by From
David Baron Original (signatory) members 19 April 2011
Jenny Wood Original (signatory) members 19 April 2011
Rebecca McGowan Appointed by foundation/Trust 15 July 2014
Richard Collier Original (signatory) members 19 April 2011

Accounting officer

Accounting officer
Name From To
Simon Barber 1 September 2001 Not recorded

Chief financial officer

Chief financial officer
Name From To
Philip Brittain 29 September 2020 Not recorded

Historic (left within last 12 months)

More details Less details
Historical governance
Name Role Appointed by From To
Jenny Gaylor Trustee Appointed by academy members 2 September 2017 2 September 2021
Nicholas Maybanks Trustee Elected by school staff 1 October 2018 31 August 2021
Jean Knight Trustee Appointed by GB/board 2 June 2019 16 July 2021
Rebecca McGowan Chair of trustees Appointed by academy members 21 May 2017 21 May 2021
Back to top
Regional schools commissioner (RSC) region
South-East England and South London
Government office region (GOR)
St Helier
Parliamentary constituency
Carshalton and Wallington
Urban/rural description
(England/Wales) Urban major conurbation
Government Statistical Service (GSS) local authority code
Census ward
Middle super output area (MSOA)
Sutton 005
Lower super output area (LSOA)
Sutton 005A
Back to top

Age range

The age range that the establishment is legally allowed to make provision for.

School capacity

The number of pupil places the establishment can accommodate.

Free school meals

This shows whether a pupil's family have claimed eligibility for free school meals as reported in the annual spring school census. Parents are able to claim free school meals if they receive a qualifying benefit. This does not show pupils who actually received free school meals but those who are eligible to receive them.