Establishment The Piggott School

URN: 136891

Academy converter

Download establishment data


Skip map
Twyford Road, Wargrave, Reading, Berkshire, RG10 8DS
Local authority
Wokingham (872)
Headteacher / Principal
Mr Derren Gray
Phase of education
School type
Academy converter
Gender of entry
URN: 136891, DfE number: 872/4505
UKPRN: 10034161
Establishment status
Admissions policy
Ofsted rating
Good (Last inspection: 30 November 2017)
Ofsted report (opens in new tab)
Religious character
Church of England
Diocese of Oxford
Religious ethos
Does not apply
No boarders
Nursery provision
Not applicable
Official sixth form
Has a sixth form
Number of pupils
Section 41 approved
Not applicable
Open date
1 July 2011
Reason establishment opened
Academy Converter
Closed date
Not recorded
Reason establishment closed
Not recorded
Special classes
No Special Classes
Percentage of children eligible for free school meals Help with percentage of children eligible for free school meals field Opens a dialog
Date last changed / confirmed
1 December 2021
Type of SEN provision
Type of resourced provision
Not recorded
Resourced provision number on roll
Resourced provision capacity
Special Educational Needs (SEN) unit number on roll
Special Educational Needs (SEN) unit capacity
Back to top

Legal duty to provide governance information

More details

All maintained school governing bodies and academy trusts have a legal duty to provide all of the governance information requested on this page in so far as it is available to them.

This will increase the transparency of governance arrangements. It will enable schools and the department to identify more quickly and accurately individuals who are involved in governance, and who govern in more than one context.

The information requested says nothing in itself about a person's suitability to govern. However, it is essential information for the department to be able to uniquely identify an individual and in a small number of cases conduct checks to confirm their suitability for this important and influential role.

You should provide all of the information requested insofar as it is available to you. A minimum set of information needs to be provided before a record can be saved.

A suggested privacy notice for schools is available for download: (opens in new tab)

Chair of trustees

Chair of trustees
Name Appointed by From To
Richard Thiele Appointed by foundation/Trust 30 January 2018 10 September 2025


Name Appointed by From To
Thandazani Mhlanga Appointed by foundation/Trust 6 May 2021 5 May 2025
Joanna Cowley Appointed by foundation/Trust 15 July 2016 14 July 2024
Lucy Bowley Appointed by foundation/Trust 16 March 2016 15 March 2024
Alison Silby Persons who are appointed by the foundation body or sponsor (if applicable) 15 March 2016 14 March 2024
Ian Pogue Elected by parents 12 February 2016 11 February 2024
Mark Neale Cowieson Appointed by academy members 26 November 2019 25 November 2023
Nichola Jane Stewart-tennant Appointed by foundation/Trust 26 November 2019 25 November 2023
John Cook Appointed by foundation/Trust 30 September 2019 29 September 2023
James Andrew Bell Elected by parents 1 February 2019 31 January 2023
John Matthew Gregory Perowne Appointed by foundation/Trust 14 December 2018 13 December 2022
Alison Elizabeth Smyly Appointed by foundation/Trust 19 November 2018 18 November 2022
Christopher Timothy West Appointed by foundation/Trust 19 November 2018 18 November 2022
Joanne Humphrey Elected by school staff 1 October 2018 30 September 2022
Gary Hughes Persons who are appointed by the foundation body or sponsor (if applicable) 30 June 2014 29 June 2022
Marianne Newman Elected by parents 22 January 2018 21 January 2022
Derren Gray Ex-officio by virtue of office as headteacher/principal 1 September 2014 Not recorded


Name Appointed by From
Diocesan Board of Education Diocesan Board of Education Original (signatory) members 24 June 2011
Dr Steven Croft (Bishop of Oxford) Original (signatory) members 6 July 2016
Richard Thiele Appointed by foundation/Trust 30 January 2018
Stephen Pullin (Archdeacon of Reading) Original (signatory) members 11 October 2013

Accounting officer

Accounting officer
Name From To
Derren Gray 31 August 2014 Not recorded

Chief financial officer

Chief financial officer
Name From To
Poonam Bhardwaj 1 September 2016 Not recorded

Historic (left within last 12 months)

More details Less details
Historical governance
Name Role Appointed by From To
Richard Thiele Trustee Persons who are appointed by the foundation body or sponsor (if applicable) 11 September 2017 10 September 2021
Michael Simpson Trustee Appointed by foundation/Trust 7 September 2017 5 February 2021
Back to top
Regional schools commissioner (RSC) region
North-West London and South-Central England
Government office region (GOR)
South East
Remenham, Wargrave and Ruscombe
Parliamentary constituency
Urban/rural description
(England/Wales) Rural village
Government Statistical Service (GSS) local authority code
Middle super output area (MSOA)
Wokingham 001
Lower super output area (LSOA)
Wokingham 001D
Back to top

Age range

The age range that the establishment is legally allowed to make provision for.

School capacity

The number of pupil places the establishment can accommodate.

Free school meals

This shows whether a pupil's family have claimed eligibility for free school meals as reported in the annual spring school census. Parents are able to claim free school meals if they receive a qualifying benefit. This does not show pupils who actually received free school meals but those who are eligible to receive them.