Establishment Accrington St Christopher's Church of England High School

URN: 137421

Academy converter

Download establishment data

Skip map
Queen's Road West, Accrington, Lancashire, BB5 4AY
Local authority
Lancashire (888)
Headteacher / Principal
Headteacher Richard Jones
Phase of education
School type
Academy converter
Gender of entry
URN: 137421, DfE number: 888/4630
UKPRN: 10035196
Establishment status
Admissions policy
Ofsted rating
Good (Last inspection: 7 December 2016)
Ofsted report (opens in new tab)
Religious character
Church of England
Diocese of Blackburn
Religious ethos
Does not apply
No boarders
Nursery provision
Not applicable
Official sixth form
Has a sixth form
Number of pupils
Section 41 approved
Not applicable
Open date
1 September 2011
Reason establishment opened
Academy Converter
Closed date
Not recorded
Reason establishment closed
Not recorded
Special classes
No Special Classes
Percentage of children eligible for free school meals Help with percentage of children eligible for free school meals field Opens a dialog
Date last changed / confirmed
5 July 2021
Type of SEN provision
Type of resourced provision
Not recorded
Resourced provision number on roll
Resourced provision capacity
Special Educational Needs (SEN) unit number on roll
Special Educational Needs (SEN) unit capacity
Back to top

Legal duty to provide governance information

More details

All maintained school governing bodies and academy trusts have a legal duty to provide all of the governance information requested on this page in so far as it is available to them.

This will increase the transparency of governance arrangements. It will enable schools and the department to identify more quickly and accurately individuals who are involved in governance, and who govern in more than one context.

The information requested says nothing in itself about a person's suitability to govern. However, it is essential information for the department to be able to uniquely identify an individual and in a small number of cases conduct checks to confirm their suitability for this important and influential role.

You should provide all of the information requested insofar as it is available to you. A minimum set of information needs to be provided before a record can be saved.

A suggested privacy notice for schools is available for download: (opens in new tab)

Chair of trustees

Chair of trustees
Name Appointed by From To
Frank Whitehead Appointed by foundation/Trust 1 September 2011 31 August 2025


Name Appointed by From To
Helen Fiona Davies Elected by school staff 14 February 2021 13 February 2025
Michael Coop-Rushworth Elected by school staff 14 February 2021 13 February 2025
Paul Stinchon Foundation/sponsor members 20 February 2020 19 February 2024
David Andrew Rogan Elected by school staff 16 December 2019 15 December 2023
John Leaver Elected by parents 10 June 2019 9 June 2023
Leslie Mercer-Smith Elected by parents 10 June 2019 9 June 2023
Denise Taylor Original (signatory) members 20 March 2018 19 August 2022
Kathryn Baron Original (signatory) members 11 April 2018 1 April 2022
Helen Harker Nominated by other body and appointed by GB 8 October 2017 7 October 2021
Alex Cran Elected by parents 28 September 2017 27 September 2021


Name Appointed by From
David Anderson Any additional members appointed by the members of the academy trust 1 September 2011
Frank Whitehead Appointed by foundation/Trust 1 September 2011
Linda Hargreaves Ex-officio foundation governor (appointed by foundation by virtue of the office they hold) 1 September 2011
Peter Jones Foundation/sponsor members 1 December 2016
Stephen Whittaker Ex-officio foundation governor (appointed by foundation by virtue of the office they hold) 1 June 2015

Accounting officer

Accounting officer
Name From To
Richard Jones 1 September 2013 Not recorded

Chief financial officer

Chief financial officer
Name From To
Richard Berry 1 July 2020 Not recorded

Historic (left within last 12 months)

More details Less details
Historical governance
Name Role Appointed by From To
Catherine Wightman Trustee Foundation/sponsor members 1 September 2017 31 August 2021
Frank Whitehead Chair of trustees Appointed by foundation/Trust 18 May 2017 17 May 2021
Clare Carter Trustee Elected by school staff 14 February 2017 13 February 2021
Christopher Holden Trustee Appointed by academy members 1 September 2019 4 January 2021
Back to top
Regional schools commissioner (RSC) region
Lancashire and West Yorkshire
Government office region (GOR)
North West
Parliamentary constituency
Urban/rural description
(England/Wales) Urban city and town
Government Statistical Service (GSS) local authority code
Census ward
Middle super output area (MSOA)
Hyndburn 002
Lower super output area (LSOA)
Hyndburn 002C
Back to top

Age range

The age range that the establishment is legally allowed to make provision for.

School capacity

The number of pupil places the establishment can accommodate.

Free school meals

This shows whether a pupil's family have claimed eligibility for free school meals as reported in the annual spring school census. Parents are able to claim free school meals if they receive a qualifying benefit. This does not show pupils who actually received free school meals but those who are eligible to receive them.