Establishment Belthorn Academy Primary School

URN: 137512

Academy converter

Download establishment data

Skip map
Belthorn Road, Belthorn, Blackburn, Lancashire, BB1 2NY
Local authority
Lancashire (888)
Headteacher / Principal
Mrs Helen Rowan
Phase of education
School type
Academy converter
Single-academy trust
Gender of entry
URN: 137512, DfE number: 888/5205
UKPRN: 10035497
Establishment status
Admissions policy
Ofsted rating
Good (Last inspection: 9 May 2018)
Ofsted report (opens in new tab)
Religious character
Not applicable
Religious ethos
Does not apply
No boarders
Nursery provision
Has Nursery Classes
Official sixth form
Not applicable
Number of pupils
Section 41 approved
Not applicable
Open date
1 October 2011
Reason establishment opened
Academy Converter
Closed date
Not recorded
Reason establishment closed
Not recorded
Special classes
No Special Classes
Date last changed / confirmed
12 April 2021
Type of SEN provision
Type of resourced provision
Not applicable
Resourced provision number on roll
Resourced provision capacity
Special Educational Needs (SEN) unit number on roll
Special Educational Needs (SEN) unit capacity

Legal duty to provide governance information

More details

All maintained school governing bodies and academy trusts have a legal duty to provide all of the governance information requested on this page in so far as it is available to them.

This will increase the transparency of governance arrangements. It will enable schools and the department to identify more quickly and accurately individuals who are involved in governance, and who govern in more than one context.

The information requested says nothing in itself about a person's suitability to govern. However, it is essential information for the department to be able to uniquely identify an individual and in a small number of cases conduct checks to confirm their suitability for this important and influential role.

You should provide all of the information requested insofar as it is available to you. A minimum set of information needs to be provided before a record can be saved.

A suggested privacy notice for schools is available for download: (opens in new tab)

Chair of trustees

Chair of trustees
Name Appointed by From To
Yvonne Brown Nominated by other body and appointed by GB 31 October 2015 3 July 2023


Name Appointed by From To
Chloe Noon Elected by parents 18 December 2020 17 December 2024
Robert Tomlinson Elected by parents 18 December 2020 17 December 2024
Charlotte Louise Jackson Appointed by GB/board 11 June 2020 10 June 2024
Claire Holden Appointed by GB/board 11 June 2020 10 June 2024
Munaza Hussain Appointed by GB/board 11 June 2020 10 June 2024
Stephen Lowe Nominated by other body and appointed by GB 12 May 2020 12 May 2024
Emma Nolan Appointed by academy members 4 July 2019 3 July 2023
Nathan Griffiths Elected by school staff 19 October 2018 18 October 2022
Helen Rowan Ex-officio by virtue of office as headteacher/principal 1 September 2016 31 August 2022
Lesley Billingham Appointed by GB/board 25 June 2018 24 June 2022
Robin Battersby Cornmell Elected by parents 14 March 2018 13 March 2022
Chris Banks Elected by parents 8 December 2017 7 December 2021
Elizabeth Taylor Appointed by GB/board 20 November 2017 21 November 2021
Mark Gatenby Griffiths Elected by school staff 16 June 2017 15 June 2021


Name Appointed by From
David Merrick Appointed by academy members 30 January 2020
Stephen Lowe Original (signatory) members 23 August 2011
Yvonne Brown Any additional members appointed by the members of the academy trust 31 October 2015

Accounting officer

Accounting officer
Name From To
Helen Rowan 1 September 2016 Not recorded

Chief financial officer

Chief financial officer
Name From To
Helen Saint 1 September 2018 Not recorded

Historic (left within last 12 months)

More details Less details
Historical governance
Name Role Appointed by From To
Mohammed Ali Trustee Elected by parents 9 May 2016 8 November 2020
Jason Slack Member Original (signatory) members 23 August 2011 6 November 2020
Bushra Ghafoor Trustee Appointed by GB/board 11 June 2020 1 September 2020
Regional schools commissioner (RSC) region
Lancashire and West Yorkshire
Government office region (GOR)
North West
Blackburn with Darwen
West Pennine
Parliamentary constituency
Urban/rural description
(England/Wales) Rural village
Government Statistical Service (GSS) local authority code
Census ward
Middle super output area (MSOA)
Blackburn with Darwen 018
Lower super output area (LSOA)
Blackburn with Darwen 018A

Age range

The age range that the establishment is legally allowed to make provision for.

School capacity

The number of pupil places the establishment can accommodate.

Free school meals

This shows whether a pupil's family have claimed eligibility for free school meals as reported in the annual spring school census. Parents are able to claim free school meals if they receive a qualifying benefit. This does not show pupils who actually received free school meals but those who are eligible to receive them.