Establishment The Reach Free School

URN: 139662

Free schools

Download establishment data

Single-academy trust: REACH LEARNING LIMITED

Skip map
Long Lane, Rickmansworth, Hertfordshire, WD3 8AB
Local authority
Hertfordshire (919)
Headteacher / Principal
Mr Richard Booth
Phase of education
School type
Free schools
Single-academy trust
Gender of entry
URN: 139662, DfE number: 919/4007
UKPRN: 10041671
Establishment status
Admissions policy
Ofsted rating
Good (Last inspection: 28 February 2019)
Ofsted report (opens in new tab)
Religious character
Not recorded
Religious ethos
Not applicable
Nursery provision
No Nursery Classes
Official sixth form
Has a sixth form
Number of pupils
Section 41 approved
Not applicable
Open date
2 September 2013
Reason establishment opened
New Provision
Closed date
Not recorded
Reason establishment closed
Not recorded
Special classes
Not applicable
Percentage of children eligible for free school meals Help with percentage of children eligible for free school meals field Opens a dialog
Date last changed / confirmed
10 September 2021
Type of SEN provision
Type of resourced provision
Not recorded
Resourced provision number on roll
Resourced provision capacity
Special Educational Needs (SEN) unit number on roll
Special Educational Needs (SEN) unit capacity
Back to top

Legal duty to provide governance information

More details

All maintained school governing bodies and academy trusts have a legal duty to provide all of the governance information requested on this page in so far as it is available to them.

This will increase the transparency of governance arrangements. It will enable schools and the department to identify more quickly and accurately individuals who are involved in governance, and who govern in more than one context.

The information requested says nothing in itself about a person's suitability to govern. However, it is essential information for the department to be able to uniquely identify an individual and in a small number of cases conduct checks to confirm their suitability for this important and influential role.

You should provide all of the information requested insofar as it is available to you. A minimum set of information needs to be provided before a record can be saved.

A suggested privacy notice for schools is available for download: (opens in new tab)

Chair of trustees

Chair of trustees
Name Appointed by From To
Carolyn Venn Appointed by GB/board 16 September 2021 16 September 2022


Name Appointed by From To
Mark Sutton Appointed by academy members 1 September 2021 31 August 2025
Claire Suzanne Adby Appointed by academy members 12 July 2021 12 July 2025
Matthew William Southworth Cawthorne Appointed by academy members 21 June 2021 21 June 2025
Graham Richard Nye Appointed by academy members 31 March 2021 31 March 2025
Kirsten Louise Johnson Appointed by academy members 11 March 2021 11 March 2025
Stephen Mark Brooks Appointed by academy members 6 October 2020 6 October 2024
Richard Sutton Appointed by academy members 7 October 2019 7 October 2023
Eyal Hartal Parent appointed by GB/board due to no election candidates 14 January 2019 13 January 2023
Lucy Wickins Elected by school staff 20 September 2018 20 September 2022
Adrian Green Elected by parents 4 May 2018 4 May 2022
Colette Oliver Elected by school staff 1 September 2017 23 October 2021


Name Appointed by From
Carolyn Venn Appointed by academy members 22 February 2012
George William Burvill Appointed by academy members 2 July 2021
Mark Sutton Appointed by academy members 23 February 2012

Accounting officer

Accounting officer
Name From To
Richard Booth 1 September 2013 Not recorded

Chief financial officer

Chief financial officer
Name From To
Martyn Essery 1 September 2013 Not recorded

Historic (left within last 12 months)

More details Less details
Historical governance
Name Role Appointed by From To
Martyn Essery Member Appointed by academy members 23 May 2011 5 July 2021
Natalie Simpson Member Original (signatory) members 12 July 2010 2 July 2021
Richard Booth Member Original (signatory) members 12 July 2010 2 July 2021
Matthew Cawthorne Trustee Appointed by academy members 20 June 2017 20 June 2021
Graham Nye Trustee Appointed by academy members 31 March 2017 31 March 2021
Back to top
Regional schools commissioner (RSC) region
North-West London and South-Central England
Government office region (GOR)
East of England
Three Rivers
Penn & Mill End
Parliamentary constituency
South West Hertfordshire
Urban/rural description
(England/Wales) Urban major conurbation
Government Statistical Service (GSS) local authority code
Census ward
Middle super output area (MSOA)
Three Rivers 007
Lower super output area (LSOA)
Three Rivers 007A
Back to top

Age range

The age range that the establishment is legally allowed to make provision for.

School capacity

The number of pupil places the establishment can accommodate.

Free school meals

This shows whether a pupil's family have claimed eligibility for free school meals as reported in the annual spring school census. Parents are able to claim free school meals if they receive a qualifying benefit. This does not show pupils who actually received free school meals but those who are eligible to receive them.